ANY OBJECTIONS ?

YOU HAVE ANY OBJECTIONS ?

THE ORGANIZATION IS NOT SPIRITUAL ENOUGH

Knights of Columbus is not a spirituality movement. Its spiritual “persuasion” is that of the Catholic Church. Men join the Order as Catholics, with differing and complementarity degrees of spiritual sensitivity. What they share is a devotion to the Catholic faith and its social and moral teachings, and a strong desire to serve their parish and priest with a missionary zeal.

THE NAME DOESN’T CORRESPOND TO FRENCH REALITY

The beauty of an adventure is not measured solely by marketing or communications criteria. Every country could have chosen a more fitting name with greater appeal. However, we believe that the mission is not tied to a certain name, brand or logo. Keeping the movement’s original name and codes is a gesture of humility and obedience that enables us to move beyond names and conventions that a very French-centric public might find disconcerting and focus more on project substance.

YOU’RE A BUNCH OF MALE CHAUVINISTS!

We realize that our wives and other women may not always understand a man’s need to “be with the guys.” Often, it’s in these men-only environments, like on sports fields, that we are able to set aside social rules, forget about social status and hang out like pals, equal in our inadequacy to serve. But we never forget that a married man's first priority is to serve, protect and cherish his wife.

I DON’T HAVE ANY TIME TO GIVE

Councils are deliberately organized in a fairly standard way. The methodology used to oversee programs requires a commitment of only 1 hour per month (duration of the monthly meeting). This equates to 1/720th of your time. The time commitment is even more painless when there is a good turnout and the projects are simple and realistic.

THE SPIRIT OF CHIVALRY IS RETROGRADE

The spirit of service and fraternity is neither conservative nor outdated. Some of the organization’s outward appearances may seem unconventional to some people. We believe that the spirit of chivalry and its underlying drivers (inclusion, recognition, rituals, a sense of commitment, keeping promises, etc.) are extremely relevant in these troubled times. We are convinced that men of good faith must get to know each other in order to be better able to love one another and to share their visions, plans and talents to help spread the gospel in our country. 

THIS IS A TYPICAL AMERICAN ORGANIZATION

Although the model is American-inspired, the organization has spread to over fifteen countries throughout the world. The issue of inculturation is important and we believe that the French spirit can be enriched by embracing good practices from abroad (such as simplicity in relationships, methodology, expression of needs, making promises, sharing good practices, and spiritual and cultural enrichment).

IN FRANCE, IT HAS TO BE “MADE IN FRANCE”

We like taking risks. There is indeed a French culture of promoting typical French movements often inspired by a certain brand of spirituality or charisma. French Knights of Columbus are extremely proud of their French identity and this identity is a source of strength for the movement at the international level. We seek to promote Father McGivney’s vision in France, in a context similar to that which led to the creation of the organization: men having lost their way, a fragile society, and the challenges of missionary work.

SCOUTING IS OLD FASHIONED AND FOR DREAMERS

Knights of Columbus are not over-the-hill romantic boy scouts, clubs of self-righteous do-gooders, or Christian schemers. That’s not the intention at all. The movement is very simple and modest, embodying the ideal of men coming together in their local parishes and in camaraderie with their priests to pool their talents and work on projects. We use our combined talents to promote the teachings of the Catholic Church. In no way is membership a means of avoiding or escaping family or professional obligations.

Vous avez des objections ?

Vous avez des objections ?

Le projet n'est pas assez spirituel

Les Chevaliers de Colomb ne représentent pas un mouvement de spiritualité. Leur "couleur" spirituelle est celle de l'Eglise Catholique. Les hommes sont engagés en tant que catholiques, avec la richesse et la complémentarité de leur sensibilité spirituelle. Un point commun : leur attachement à la foi catholique, à son enseignement social et moral et le désir ardent de servir la paroisse et le prêtre, dans un élan missionnaire.

L'appellation ne correspond pas à une réalité française

La beauté d'une aventure ne répond pas qu'à des critères de marketing et de communication. Chaque pays aurait pu trouver un nom plus adapté et plus attractif. Nous pensons cependant que le projet ne tient pas à un nom, une marque, un logo. En respectant le nom et les codes originels du mouvement, nous posons aussi un acte d'humilité et d'obéissance, qui conduit à mieux parler du fond des projets, au-delà d'une forme et d'une appelation qui peut décontenancer un public très franco-français.

Vous êtes des affreux machos !

Nous comprenons que nos épouses ou d'autres femmes puissent ne pas comprendre le besoin éprouvé par les hommes de se retrouver ... entre hommes. C'est souvent ce contexte exclusivement masculin, que l'on retrouve sur les terrains sportifs, qui permet de faire tomber les statuts, d'oublier les postures sociales ou mondaines ... pour se retrouver comme des garçons, égaux dans notre pauvreté pour servir. Sans oublier la priorité des hommes mariés : celle de servir, sécuriser et chérir son épouse.

Nous n'avons plus de temps pour l'engagement

L'organisation des Conseils est volontairement assez normée. La méthodologie employée dans le suivi des programmes permet de s'engager pour une heure par mois (durée de la réunion mensuelle), soit 1 / 720 ème de son temps. Plus les hommes seront nombreux et les projets simples et réalistes, et plus cette durée d'engagement sera indolore.

L’esprit de chevalerie est rétrograde

L'esprit de service et de fraternité n'est ni conservateur ni désuet. Certaines formes extérieures dans l'engagement peuvent apparaître décalées à certains. Nous assumons que l'esprit de chevalerie et ses ressorts soient d'une grande actualité en ces temps troubles : inclusion, reconnaissance, rites, sens de l'engagement et de la parole donnée... Nous sommes convaincus que les hommes de bonne volonté doivent se connaître pour mieux s'aimer, partager leurs visions, leurs projets, leurs talents pour contribuer à évangéliser au sein de notre pays. 

C’est un projet typiquement américain

D'inspiration américaine, ce projet s'est développé dans plus de quinze pays dans le monde. Les enjeux d'inculturation sont importants et nous pensons que l'esprit français peut s'enrichir en accueillant des bonnes pratiques venant de l'international (simplicité dans les relations, méthodologie, expression de besoins, parole donnée, partage de bonnes pratiques, enrichissement spirituel et culturel ...).

En France, il faut être "made in France"

Nous aimons le risque. Effectivement, il y a une culture française de mouvements typiquement français, souvent inspirés par une spiritualité et des charismes donnés. Les Chevaliers de Colomb français sont riches de leur identité française et c'est précisément cette identité qui est un atout pour le mouvement, à l'international. Nous souhaitons développer en France la vision fondatrice du Père McGivney, dans un contexte similaire à celui de la fondation de cette organisation : hommes déboussolés, société fragile et enjeux missionnaires.

Le scoutisme, c'est dépassé et un peu rêveur

Les Chevaliers de Colomb ne sont pas des boy-scouts romantiques sur le retour, un club de pieux bien-pensants ou des comploteurs chrétiens. Là n'est pas vraiment le sujet ... Le mouvement est très simple, pauvre et incarné. Unir nos talents dans des projets, en partant de l'entité paroissiale et de l'amitié avec le prêtre. Nous unissons ces talents pour promouvoir l'enseignement de l'Eglise catholique. En aucun cas l'engagement ne sera une fuite ou une échappatoire par rapport au devoir d'état familial ou professionnel.