Masculine spirituality

Masculine spirituality

For many years, Catholic men have felt the need to find themselves.

Marches and pilgrimages are opportunities to celebrate and invoke the fatherly figure of St. Joseph, nurturing father of Christ.

Thousands of men and fathers gather at Christian sacred sites such as Cotignac, Mont Saint-Michel, Montligeon and Vézelay for annual pilgrimages in the spring. In March, around the time of St. Joseph’s Day, fathers and priests eagerly gather for massive marches.

Within parishes, men meet regularly with their priests to educate themselves and to discuss the family, professional, political and spiritual issues they face.

The Knights of Columbus is part of this new movement to mobilize Catholic men in France. In establishing councils, the Order provides a formal and structured framework for these gatherings and becomes part of an immense movement of international brotherhood.

BEING humble herOS TO OUR neighbors

“What is a hero? He’s a man of special occasions. What is a saint? Any person, when he is filled with God on all occasions—big and small. A saint measures his sometimes very humble life against the infinity of God. Heroism towards one’s neighbor is precisely what holiness is. And this holiness is what leads to heroism, when necessary. By being great in small things, we will one day be great in great things, if History so decides.”
Martin Steffens – Nouvel âge des Pères [New Age of Fathers]

“into the breach” pastoral letter

In September 2015, the Bishop of Phoenix, Arizona, Monsignor Olmsted, decided to write a pastoral letter to the men in his diocese.

Knowing that men today face many temptations and struggle to "find their way," Bishop Olmsted wrote a powerful call to action for Catholic men, urging them find their true calling. With the help of fellow clergy (priests and nuns) and several laypeople (a mother, professor of psychology, sports coach and an army officer); he delivered a message of hope and strength to today’s men.

Soon after, a group of men in France read the letter and were so moved by it that they decided to translate it and disseminate it in a targeted, individual way through the production of an illustrated booklet.

To date, the “Into the Breach” booklet has been distributed to nearly 3,000 people in France during men's marches and family pilgrimages and through priests and seminarians.

Bishop Olmsted has personally blessed the plans to expand the Knights of Columbus in France.

La spiritualité Masculine

Spiritualité masculine

Depuis plusieurs années, des hommes catholiques éprouvent le besoin de se retrouver.

Les marches et les pèlerinages sont l’occasion de célébrer et invoquer la figure paternelle de Saint Joseph, père nourricier du Christ.

Dans des hauts lieux chrétiens, comme Cotignac, Le Mont Saint Michel, Montligeon et Vézelay, des hommes et pères de famille se retrouvent par milliers à l’occasion de pèlerinages annuels avant l’été. En mars, autour de la Fête de Saint Joseph, de grandes marches rassemblent avec ferveur des pères et les prêtres.

Au sein des paroisses, des hommes se rassemblent régulièrement autour de leur prêtre, pour se former, échanger sur tous les enjeux familiaux, professionnels, politiques et spirituels qui les interpellent.

Les Chevaliers de Colomb s’inscrivent dans ce courant de nouvelle mobilisation des hommes catholiques de France. En créant un Conseil, ils offrent un cadre formel et organisé à ces rencontres, et s’associent à un immense mouvement de fraternité internationale.

Vivre l’humble héroïsme du prochain

“Qu’est ce qu’un héros ? C’est l’homme des grandes occasions. Qu’est ce qu’un saint ? C’est chacun, quand il est riche de Dieu en de grandes, ou en de très petites occasions. Le saint mesure sa vie, parfois très humble, à l’infini de Dieu. Cet héroïsme du prochain, c’est précisément la sainteté. Et c’est elle qui mènera, si besoin, à l’héroïsme : c’est à force d’être grand dans les petites choses qu’on sera un jour, si l’Histoire le décidait, grand dans de grandes choses.”

Martin Steffens – le Nouvel âge des Pères

La lettre pastorale "sur la brèche"

En septembre 2015, l'évêque de Phoenix en Arizona, Monseigneur Olmsted, a décidé d'écrire une lettre pastorale destinée aux hommes de son diocèse.

Conscient des difficultés des hommes contemporains à "trouver leur axe", soumis à des nombreuses tentations, l'évêque livre un texte puissant en appelant les hommes catholiques au sursaut, à la recherche de leur authentique vocation. Epaulé par des laïcs (mère de famille, professeur de psychologie, entraîneur de sport, officier de l'armée) et par des religieux (prêtres et religieuses), il délivre un message d'espérance et de force à destination des hommes d'aujourd'hui.

Très tôt alertés et interpellés par le texte, les Français décident de le traduire et d'en assurer une diffusion ciblée et personnelle, à travers la production d'un livret illustré.

Depuis, le livret "sur la brèche" a été transmis à près de 3000 personnes en France, autour des marches d'hommes, des pèlerinages familiaux et par le relais de prêtres et de séminaristes.

Monseigneur Olmsted apporte sa bénédiction personnelle aux projets français de développement des Chevaliers de Colomb.