Serving parishes

Serving parishes

SUPPORTING THE CHURCH, LOVING THE CHURCH AND HELPING OTHERS TO LOVE IT

Parish councils are teams of men who gather in their home churches to serve the priests and their parish community. Action at the local level is vital. Through it, we strengthen our ties to our parishes and find solidarity with our neighbors in the spirit of unity.

This close community connection is the key to being hospitable and welcoming to all, resisting the temptation to be cliquish or exclusive.

Council membership is comprised of parishioners, and to a lesser extent, it may also include other devout Catholic men seeking to join the Knights of Columbus in the hopes of forming their own council someday.

 

THE five priorities of OUR parish projects

In serving the parish, Knights of Columbus undertake projects structured around five priorities.
Members simply commit to developing these projects, which should be neither too extensive nor too insignificant.
They may mobilize to create new projects or to continue implementing existing ones.

Spiritual life

Knights attend Sunday Mass, arriving on time, and encourage each other to go to monthly confession.

Examples of spiritual activities that the council may share include: pilgrimages, evening worship, reciting the rosary, Holy Hour, lectio divina, retreats, prayer chains, council mass, and spiritual mentoring.

Every morning, around 7 am, the French Knights pray for each other through a prayer to St. Joseph.

Material support

In the image of St. Joseph the craftsman, Knights band together to help with manual tasks that anyone can do: cleaning, sweeping, tidying up, odd jobs, guarding and security services, moving assistance, and other miscellaneous jobs. These services may be rendered to the church, to parishioners or any person in need. When we roll up our sleeves and toil together, setting aside social norms and status, we pave the way for fraternity.

Charity

Charity is the first principle. Knights are committed to using their time, talents and material or financial resources to help people in need.

Charitable actions may be implemented through existing parish programs and can include activities such as sheltering the homeless, visiting the sick or elderly, assisting pregnant women, providing housing or employment assistance, and teaching literacy skills.

Youth

Transmission of the faith is essential. Although faith is a gift from God, we have all been nurtured along the way by great spiritual figures who have led us to Christ. Therefore we must reinvest in the education of our youth.

Youth programs led by the Knights may include activities such as: conducting alter server training, chaperoning pilgrimages, supporting vocational discernment, running camps and retreats, offering first aid training, and sponsoring cultural, recreational or sports activities.

Fellowship

Evangelization requires enthusiasm, so it is important to have opportunities to enjoy fellowship at our monthly meetings and beyond.

Fellowship activities may include restaurant outings, sports or cultural events, the annual priest appreciation banquet, spring or summer cocktail parties, or family banquets. These fun and enjoyable events are also opportunities to invite others to join us.

le service des paroisses

Le service des paroisses

AIDER, AIMER, ET FAIRE AIMER L’EGLISE

Le Conseil paroissial représente l'équipe d'hommes rassemblés autour de leur clocher, au service des prêtres et de la communauté paroissiale. L'action locale est essentielle. Elle permet de s'ancrer durablement autour des clochers de nos paroisses, en découvrant la solidarité de voisinage, dans un souci d'unité.

Cette relation de proximité est essentielle pour accueillir et inviter largement en évitant la tentation affinitaire ou mondaine.

Les membres du Conseil sont composés de paroissiens mais peuvent intégrer, de façon plus marginale, des hommes catholiques ardents désirant s'engager auprès des Chevaliers de Colomb, pour demain,  peut-être, fonder à leur tour un Conseil.

LES CINQ AXES DE NOS PROJETS PAROISSIAUX

Au service de la paroisse les projets suivis par les Chevaliers de Colomb se déploient autour de cinq axes.

Ils s'engagent simplement à planifier ces projets qui ne doivent être ni trop lourds ni trop insignifiants.

Cette mobilisation pourra se faire par la création de nouveaux projets mais aussi par la mobilisation auprès de projets déjà existants. 

SPIRITUEL

Les Chevaliers assistent à la messe dominicale, en arrivant à l'heure, et s'encouragent à la confession mensuelle.

Les projets spirituels partagés au sein du conseil pourront être : pèlerinage, veillée d'adoration, récitation du chapelet, heure sainte, lectio divina, retraite, chaîne de prière, messe à l'intention du conseil, parrainage spirituel...  

Tous les matins, vers 7h, les Chevaliers français prient les uns pour les autres à travers une prière à Saint Joseph.

MATERIEL

A l'image de Saint Joseph artisan, les Chevaliers s'engagent à effectuer ensemble des tâches manuelles accessibles à tous : nettoyage, balayage, rangement, travaux divers, gardiennage et sécurité, déménagements et service divers. Ces travaux pourront être rendus au bénéfice de la paroisse, des paroissiens et de toute personne dans le besoin. C'est en se retroussant les manches, en transpirant ensemble, en faisant tomber les codes et les statuts que peut s'enclencher la fraternité. 

CARITATIF

La charité est le premier des principes. Les Chevaliers s'engagent à servir des personnes dans le besoin en leur apportant leur temps, leurs talents, un soutien matériel voire financier.

Ces projets d'ordre caritatif pourront se déployer à travers des programmes paroissiaux existants. Il peut s'agir d'accueil et de visites de personnes vulnérables, de maraudes, de soutien à des femmes enceintes, d'aide au logement et à la recherche d'emploi, d'aide à l'alphabétisation...

JEUNESSE

La question de la transmission est fondamentale. Si la Foi est un don de Dieu, nous avons tous été édifiés par de grandes figures spirituelles qui nous ont conduits vers le Christ. Les hommes doivent réinvestir le terrain éducatif.

Les projets de jeunesse conduits par les Chevaliers pourront être : la formation au service de l'autel, l'encadrement de pèlerinage, l'aide au discernement de la vocation, l'encadrement de camps et de retraites, des formations au secourisme, des sorties sportives culturelles ou ludiques ... 

CONVIVIALITE

L'évangélisation ne se déploie que dans l'enthousiasme. Il est important de partager de bons moments de convivialité autour de nos rencontres mensuelles et au-delà.

Ces projets fraternels de convivialité pourront être : des dégustations gastronomiques, des sorties sportives ou culturelles, le fameux banquet annuel des prêtres, des apéritifs printaniers et estivaux, le buffet des familles. Ces moments de qualité et de joie sont autant d'occasions d'inviter largement autour de nous.