establishing a council

10 steps to establishing a council

1. Meet with us and gather information: leaflets, magazines, questions, etc.
2. Identify 3 parish friends who like adventure.
3. Discuss the idea with your parish priest (who is already aware of the need).
4. Inform the bishop of the diocese.
5. Identify 6 more guys in the church!
6. Meet and choose the name of a patron saint for the council!
7. Share a meal and time of prayer together.
8. Identify some concrete activities and start implementing them!
9. Discuss your plans with your spouses because you'll need their support!
10. We plan a festive initiation ceremony! Bravo!

all ages

A unique feature of the council is that it unites men of all ages—from 18 to 90. The rules are simple. We address each other informally like brothers because we are sons of the same Father. Everyone has the same status. Discussions are intended to be open and provide a forum for sharing experiences, requesting assistance, and praying intentionally.

all walks of life

All walks of life are represented in the council. Bachelors, married men, and men who are separated all come together with their council chaplain. Looking past their differences, they are united by a shared identity as simple pilgrims and men above all else, joined in their diverse and and unique callings, sharing their pain and their joy.

ALL countries

Membership in a national and international family is truly inspirational. Looking beyond our local problems, we broaden our horizons. A Parisian meets a person from Marseilles; a Breton prays with a Norman. As we become aware of projects in the Philippines, issues in Canada, or challenges in Poland, we see the universality of Catholicism at work in countries other than our own.

fonder un Conseil

Les 10 étapes pour fonder un Conseil

1. Nous rencontrer et se documenter : plaquette, magazine, questions etc
2. Identifier autour de vous 3 camarades paroissiens intéressés par l'aventure
3. Vous en parlez avec le prêtre de la paroisse ... qui est convaincu du besoin
4. Vous en informez l'évêque du diocèse
5. Vous identifiez encore 6 gars de la paroisse !
6. Vous vous réunissez et trouvez le nom du saint patron du Conseil !
7. Vous partagez un bon moment de prière et de gastronomie ensemble.
8. Vous identifiez des actions concrètes à mener et commencez à les mener !
9. Vous en parlez à vos épouses car elle doivent vous soutenir !
10. Nous programmons une cérémonie d'accueil festive de lancement ! Olé !

tous les âges

La particularité du conseil est de rassembler des hommes dont l'âge s'échelonne entre 18 ans et près de 90 ans. La règle est simple : le tutoiement de rigueur comme frères car fils d'un même Père. Les statuts tombent. Les échanges ont vocation à être libres, autour de partages d'expériences, de demande de soutiens, d'intentions de prières.

tous les états

Au sein du conseil, tous les états de vie sont représentés. Autour du prêtre, qui est le chapelain du conseil, les célibataires et les hommes mariés ou séparés se retrouvent. Par delà les différences, ils sont unis dans leur identité de simples pèlerins, d'hommes avant tout, dans la diversité et la singularité de leur vocation, partageant leurs souffrances et leurs joies.

tous les pays

L'appartenance à une famille nationale et internationale représente une vraie respiration. Au-delà de nos problématiques locales, nous nous ouvrons à d'autres horizons. Le parisien retrouve le marseillais, le breton prie avec le normand. Il s'agit d'un signe de l'universalité du catholicisme vécu au-delà de notre seul pays. Nous nous ouvrons aux projets philippins, aux enjeux canadiens, aux défis polonais.